Beyond the reasons I listed in my Getting to know me post, this was another reason for starting a blog: my review of the gluten-free Chocolate Peanut Butter Brownies from the new cookbook Gluten-Free Girl and the Chef!

I’ve only been reading the blog Gluten-Free Girl and the Chef for a few months, but I have enjoyed every single post since I started reading it!  When I heard that the author Shauna was giving out free recipes from her new cookbook, I jumped at the chance!  The only thing was she wanted us to share our experience in making the recipes, and I didn’t really have a good medium to share my experience in.  I have Flickr, but I wanted to write a bunch, so I started this blog.

But again, I digress.  I made the gluten-free Chocolate Peanut Butter Brownies and my review is this: they are wonderful!!!  Now I could end there, but that wouldn’t make a very good post now would it?

What I liked first and foremost about this recipe is that most of the ingredients are easy to find.  I only had to go to my gluten-free store for three items.  Then I started the actual process of making the batter, and it turned out to be easier than I expected!

After mixing all the ingredients, I tasted the batter.  It was amazing!  It was rich, but not overly so.  I could have eaten just the batter alone!  But it didn’t have the peanut butter in it yet and that was what I was most excited for!

The smells that came from these brownies while they were in the oven were great!  I couldn’t wait for them to finish!  They came out of the oven looking amazing and I just couldn’t wait for them to cool to try them!  I had my eye on one particular piece that had a big swirl of peanut butter in the corner!

I cut them up and noticed how light and fluffy they were, which is a big deal for gluten free items!  I took a bite and just as I suspected, they were wonderful!  Think of a Reese’s peanut butter cup in brownie form.  I had a few of my non gluten-free friends try them and they agreed that they were very good.  They did say that it was missing something that “normal” brownies have, but it wouldn’t stop them from eating them again.  I, on the other hand, couldn’t tell a difference at all!

So, in a nutshell, the recipe is very easy to make and the brownies are delicious!  If you are interested in the cookbook, which looks to have plenty more awesome gluten-free recipes, you can find it here on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Gluten-Free-Girl-Shauna-James-Ahern/dp/0470419717

or here on Barnes and Noble: http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Gluten-Free-Girl-and-the-Chef/Shauna-James-Ahern/e/9780470419717

